2015 Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize (for women)

Judges for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize 2015 are seeking ‘powerful, original voices’ during the final year of the competition.

The prestigious £1,000 prize was founded five years ago at the women’s college and has helped launch the writing careers of previous winners.

Author Allison Pearson is chairing the judging panel, she said: “The Lucy Cavendish Prize has already discovered a wealth of talent which was left to bloom unseen. The Lucy award has found gifted female authors who have despaired of getting an agent or publisher. The judges are looking for great writing and compelling narrative regardless of genre. Be it crime, comedy, historical fiction or something that can’t quite be pinned down, we want to find powerful, original voices that deserve a wider audience.”

 More information can be found here: www.lucy-cav.cam.ac.uk/fictionprize

A summary of some of the main points is below.

How to submit your work

Entries must be submitted via the online form.

You will need to submit:

  • A PDF of the first 30 pages of the novel, in black ink on white A4 paper, 1.5 line spacing, 12 point font. The entrant’s name must not appear on the manuscript.
  • A PDF of up to 10 pages of synopsis, in black ink on white A4 paper, 1.5 line spacing. The entrant’s name must not appear on the synopsis. All pages should be numbered, and the manuscript and the synopsis should be numbered separately.
  • You will also need to complete fields with your name (and legal name if you wish to enter under a pen name), address, phone number, email address, title of novel submitted and confirmation that you are over 21.
  • You will need to pay a small entry fee of £10.54.

Due to the volume of entries received it is not possible for the judges to provide feedback on non-shortlisted entries.


PLEASE SUBMIT ENTRIES, BY 2nd February 2015:


For any queries, please contact: executiveassistant@lucy-cav.cam.ac.uk

Any entrant found to be in contravention of any of the guidelines contained in this document will be automatically disqualified.

The judges’ decision will be final. The judges reserve the right not to award the prize if they think that none of the entries are of sufficient merit.


The Shortlist, the Prize-giving Dinner and the Prize


The judges will draw up a shortlist of five submissions. Those five entrants, plus one guest per shortlisted entrant, will be invited to the prize-giving dinner at Lucy Cavendish College on the evening of Thursday 14 May 2015.


Industry representatives will also be present at the dinner, as will Fellows and students of the college.


The judges will talk about all five shortlisted entries before announcing the winner and awarding the prize.


The winner of the prize will receive a cheque for £1,000. All five shortlistees will have the chance to meet industry representatives at the dinner.


In addition, all five will be offered half-hour, one-to-one consultations with Nelle Andrew, who will provide editorial feedback and discuss the marketability of their work.